Monthly Archives:: December 2013

Dec 31
Deanna Raybourn Book Signing Wrap Up

Deanna Raybourn Book Signing Wrap Up

I’ve made no secret about loving Deanna Raybourn’s books and when I heard she was coming to Albuquerque to give a workshop for the LERA members in early November, I admit I was disappointed because I couldn’t afford the fee to attend the workshop. Then I noticed a local bookstore had her lined up for a book signing and score! I had reservations about taking all seven of her books to get signed, but another author said it would be okay. When I walked into Page 1, I was hauling all seven books in my Penguin tote (yup, the one I was given when the truck stopped) and one employee eyed me suspiciously. I bet they thought I was going to sell some books, but when I mentioned the book… Read more »

Divider

Dec 29
David Morrell Southwest Book Fiesta Wrap up

David Morrell Southwest Book Fiesta Wrap up

I was clearing out files the other day and noticed I still hadn’t posted two book signing wrap ups and decided to get those posted during the last few days of December. The first one is David Morrell’s wrap up from his talk at the Southwest Book Fiesta (recap here). I grew up watching the Rambo films with my father since he really enjoyed them. I was aware of Morrell’s books, but never picked one up then I read a review for Murder as a Fire Art in an issue of Entertainment Weekly and was intrigued. I came across Thomas De Quincey before in class when I was in Glasgow and found him very interesting so when I read Morrell based his book on him, I knew I had to… Read more »

Divider

Dec 28
Life According to Literature: 2013

Life According to Literature: 2013

I had a lot of fun answering these questions last year and decided to do it again. Catherine Pope – Victorian Geek has put together this great meme. Using only books you have read this year (2013), answer these questions. Try not to repeat a book title. Describe yourself: The Mystery Woman (Amanda Quick) How do you feel: Hard to Handle (Jessica Lemmon) Describe where you currently live: Heartache Motel (Terri L. Austin, Larissa Reinhart, LynDee Walker) If you could go anywhere, where would you go: A Little Too Far (Lisa Desrochers) Your favourite form of transportation: I Run (E.L. Farris) Your best friend is: The Fairest of Them All (Carolyn Turgeon) You and your friends are: Impossible (Laurel Ulen Curtis) What’s the weather like: First Frost (Liz DeJesus) You… Read more »

Divider

Dec 26
Needing Her Prank-Tastic Blog Tour Unmasked!

Needing Her Prank-Tastic Blog Tour Unmasked!

If you’ve been following Molly McAdams’ Needing Her Prank-Tastic blog tour you know there were a few New Adult authors pretending to be Molly! Think you guessed who was the REAL Molly McAdams correctly? Well, here’s a who’s who of a prank-tacular New Adult authors. In bold is the impersonator featured on Lit, etc on December 21st. And the winner of the prize pack, as chosen by William Morrow Impulse was: Stephanie Zhang! 12/16—The Molly-Impersonator on the following sites was…JAY CROWNOVER: Books Over Boys The Eater of Books! Jennifer Weiser Reading on the Rocks A Life Bound By Books YA Bookish News The Novel List 12/17—The Molly-Impersonator on the following sites was…MONICA MURPHY: The Irish Banana Review Tart Sweet Urban Girl Reader Lebooksquirrel Judging Books By Their Covers Night Owl… Read more »

Divider

Dec 25

Merry Christmas!

Wishing you and your family a happy holiday full of warmth. May your life be colorful magnificent,shimmering, and joyful. Merry Christmas!

Divider

Dec 23
Spotlight: Kaylin McFarren’s Buried Threads + Giveaway

Spotlight: Kaylin McFarren’s Buried Threads + Giveaway

Today’s our stop on the Kaylin McFarren Buried Threads blog tour and I’m featuring her book as a special book spotlight. You can read the first chapter here (exclusive!). If you’re a fan of erotic romance or suspense, you’ll want to add this to your to be read list. Title: Buried Threads Author: Kaylin McFarren Series: Threads #2 Publisher: Creative Edge Publishing LLC Publication date: October 01, 2013 Genre: Erotic Romantic Suspense Synopsis: Rachel’s mouth sagged. “You mean you’re really a monk? But how’s that possible? You’re not even wearing a robe, and your hair…” He simply smiled. A disturbing prophecy sends a treasure hunting duo on an urgent race to rescue a country in Kaylin McFarren’s heart pounding new novel, Buried Threads. Full of erotic suspense and wild adventures,… Read more »

Divider

Dec 21
Needing Her Prank-Tastic Blog Tour

Needing Her Prank-Tastic Blog Tour

WHO IS THE REAL MOLLY McADAMS? Molly McAdams is pulling a prank on the internet to celebrate the release of her prank-tastic novella, Needing Her, on 12/23! For eight days until Needing Her goes on-sale, the internet will be brimming with New Adult celebs like J. Lynn, Jay Crownover, Sophie Jordan, and more—all pretending to be the REAL Molly McAdams. All have filled out the same Q&A, so it’s up to the fans to guess which one is the real Molly! Each day, a new Q&A will go live on a variety of blogs, and if you guess who’s answering the questions in the comments, you could win a fabulous gift basket, including books from all the participating authors, as well as a prank “starter-kit,” for your own practical jokes…. Read more »

Divider

Dec 14
Cover Reveal: Virna DePaul’s Awakened

Cover Reveal: Virna DePaul’s Awakened

Paranormal romance fans! Book 2 in the Belladonna Agency has a cover and release date! * * * Title: Awakened Author: Virna DePaul Series: The Belladonna Agency #2 Publisher: Bantam Publication date: July 01, 2014 Genre: Pararnormal Romance Synopsis: Perfect for fans of J. R. Ward, Nalini Singh, and Lara Adrian, bestselling author Virna DePaul’s thrilling series of paranormal romances invites readers into a seductive and dangerous world where vampires secretly exist among the general population, while the FBI tries to keep the Rogues among them from preying on humans—for killing, for turning, for pleasure. Ex-soldier Barrett Miles had no idea that vampires were real—until Belladonna recruits her to serve as a covert agent and infiltrate a murderous sex ring run by the most depraved of immortals, those who feed… Read more »

Divider

Dec 13
Book Review: Lucy V. Morgan’s Tousle Me

Book Review: Lucy V. Morgan’s Tousle Me

I enjoy reading parodies and when the opportunity came to review Lucy V. Morgan’s Tousle Me, I couldn’t pass up the chance! I’ve read a handful of New Adult books and the plots can be clichéd and the characters carbon copies of each other. We have good character development. I adored each of Morgan’s characters in Tousle Me. Our main heroine is Cammibelle Hicks, who like most New Adult heroines is a virgin. She’s also shy and doesn’t think she’s beautiful. Unlike our usual heroines, she has a unique hobby. She’s a book blogger! That’s right folks and I loved how Morgan incorporated this into her novel. Then we have Hunter von Styles who is your typical bad boy, but he’s a jack of all trades. Finally we have a… Read more »

Divider

Dec 09
Book Review: Lacey Silks’ Layers Deep

Book Review: Lacey Silks’ Layers Deep

Allie Green is a police officer looking to avenge her mother. When the opportunity to join Cross Enterprises comes her way, she knows it means revenge will be at her fingertips. Looking forward to applying for the coveted position she stumbles on the application when she locks eyes with the owner and suddenly she fights the attraction. Tristan Cross has his reasons for recruiting a police officer for undercover work with his security firm. He needs an in to save a woman from his past, but he wasn’t counting on encountering Allie. Together they fight a mutual attraction, but when Tristan helps Allie in her time of need, Allie realizes she needs to return the favor. Will they give into temptation and save the important people in their lives? As… Read more »

Divider

Dec 07
Book Review: Anna Bloom’s The Saving of Benjamin Chambers

Book Review: Anna Bloom’s The Saving of Benjamin Chambers

I had a lot of fun reading Anna Bloom’s The Art of Letting Go and adored Ben Chambers. If you haven’t read The Art of Letting Go, it’s not necessary to enjoy The Saving of Benjamin Chambers. Firstly, can I take a moment to talk about the cover? I’m totally digging it and I really think it reflects Ben and what he stands for. Secondly, ah, Ben! He was loads of fun in The Art of Letting Go and I loved how his relationship with Lilah began. In The Art of Letting Go, we find out Ben and Lilah met at her office Christmas party, but we don’t know exactly how the introduction occurred. The Saving of Benjamin Chambers answers this as well another important question regarding a particular gift… Read more »

Divider

Dec 06
Blog Tour: Review-Toni Aleo’s Blue Lines + Giveaway

Blog Tour: Review-Toni Aleo’s Blue Lines + Giveaway

Toni Aleo’s Blue Lines is the fourth book in her Assassins series. If you haven’t read any of the books in the series, I don’t think it’s necessary to do so to enjoy Blue Lines. Just keep in mind that Aleo does revisit past characters and touches upon past events, but no big spoilers that will impede you from enjoying the books at a later date. I wasn’t sure how Aleo was going to redeem Erik because he’s a jerk of the first order and I admit to wanting to strangle him. Let me give Aleo a high-five for redeeming him when I didn’t think it was possible. Character development is a little weak and I think it’s because we’ve known that Piper has a crush on Erik. It’s been… Read more »

Divider